The Most Treacherous Run Ever

I was stoked when I checked the weather and it was 28˚ outside. I can’t remember the last time I ran and it was over 20˚, so I got my running clothes on and shot outside. Much to my dismay, I was met with a sheet of ice (I was going to take a picture of this but I didn’t want my landlord to think I was preparing a lawsuit). My hopes were dashed and I turned right around, figuring I’d just do Banish Fat Boost Metabolism, but I already had my running clothes on and my audiobook going and I really just wanted to run. After some deliberation and pacing back and forth, I decided to go check out the shoulders of the road to see if they were icy.
It turns out there were only patches of ice, so I figured the run was doable. I set out very carefully and dreamed of sidewalks. I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I live outside of town and have to run on the shoulders of pretty busy roads. I really don’t like this, as I’m always imagining tripping and landing underneath the wheels of a speeding car or something. Today I was envisioning slipping on a patch of ice and landing underneath the wheels of a speeding car. It was stressful. I stuck with my two mile route instead of going for three because of the stress.
Still, it was a really good run. Having to be careful forced me to slow down my pace, so I didn’t get all winded. Plus, it was warmer than it has been, so that was easier on my lungs, too. I ran the entire two miles with ease, and without a walking break. This is the first time since the race that I’ve been able to run without walking breaks–I can’t wait for spring. It’s amazing how much easier running is when it’s just 10 degrees warmer.
I walked over to CVS directly after my run to pick up some ice melt. I looked positively glamourous in my running clothes and disheveled hair, all red and sweaty. But at least now I can leave my apartment without breaking my neck!

On the agenda for the rest of my day is cleaning and class. Very exciting!

This entry was posted in inclement weather, pacing, Uncategorized, winter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

