>Carrot Cake Oatmeal: I’m In Love

>I have been craving carrots like crazy lately, so when I found the recipe for carrot cake oatmeal over on Oh She Glows, I almost died. I knew I had to make it right away, and I did, and it was even better than I thought it would be. I didn’t have all of the ingredients on hand, so I threw it together with what I did have, and here’s what I got to eat for breakfast this morning:

Oh. My. God. It tasted exactly like carrot cake! Here’s how I made it:
1/4 cup oatmeal
1/2 cup original almond milk, plus more for serving (you can use any type of milk you want)
1 small carrot, grated (I used just under 1 cup which I loved. If you’re not as crazy about carrots as me I’d go with the the recommended 1/2 cup) 
1 Tbsp maple syrup
1/2 Tbsp vanilla extract
3 dashes cinnamon
1 dash powdered ginger
walnuts 
I put everything except for the walnuts in the pan all at once (I’m lazy when I’ve just gotten up!) and heated it on the stove for about 7 minutes, until it was really thick and creamy. I then poured it into a bowl, put the walnuts on top, and added a splash of milk (which is how I’ve always eaten oatmeal, because this cools it down and I am also really impatient when I’ve just gotten up). So good. I just started making oatmeal with milk instead of just water, and the difference is unbelievable. It’s so creamy and delicious! I always figured that it was about the same and therefore not worth the extra 50 calories or whatever, but I was so wrong. 
I will eventually make this recipe exactly following Angela’s instructions when I remember to buy coconut cream at the store, and I can’t even begin to imagine how good that tastes. 
Do yourself a favor and make this. It takes almost no time, is healthy and filling, and is so tasty. WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? 
This entry was posted in recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

